Teen and E-Readers

It’s been said that mainly adults are reading ebooks, but that teens are quickly catching up. I know at the high school where I teach, I’m seeing more and more teens with e-readers.
When I ask teens whether they like reading novels on an e-reader, I get mixed reviews. Some love it; others find it tedious. Believe it or not, some teens prefer the old-fashioned book! Others say they have no idea, as they don’t have the money to purchase a Kindle or Nook, etc.
Of course, this is a topic of great interest for authors of teen novels. With the huge upsurge of ebooks, we want to know: Will teens buy ebooks with the same vigor as adults?
I’d love to hear your opinions.  Thanks for reading!

4 Comments

Filed under Teen Readers

4 responses to “Teen and E-Readers

  1. Kimberly

    I think they will because an eBook is cheaper than a hardcover, and therefore more affordable for teens (the teens that can afford the eReader in the first place, that is). I’ve also found that the waiting list for YA eBooks at my library are really long (sometimes close to 100 for the more popular titles).

  2. I don’t mind ebooks, but I don’t read many. I usually just stick to regular old books : )

Leave a Reply

