Big Girl Sleep-Over

Last weekend, twenty-eight of us took off to the woods for a big-girl sleep over.

Confession: We stayed at an inn instead of in a tent.

We’re all authors, so it would be impossible for us to breathe if we couldn’t plug in.  Fingers flew over keyboards for forty-eight blissful uninterrupted hours. Not much sleep happened, but we did make up for it with chocolate! (There’s good common sense in there somewhere.)

I remember my teenage sleep-overs, when we’d talk about guys, guys, and more guys. We’d throw our sleeping bags on the floor, stare up at the dark ceiling and recall that sweet kiss, that almost date, and that shivering slow dance. We’d laugh hysterically at each other’s moments of terror or embarrassment, until whoever’s bleary-eyed mother would pop her head into the room and tell us to Get to Sleep!

Which we never did.

Good bonding times.

How about you? Did you or do you still have those cozy sleep-overs with your friends? Any particularly memorable times?

I’d love to hear from you. And as always, thanks for stopping by.

Brenda

6 Comments

Filed under Memories

6 responses to “Big Girl Sleep-Over

  1. Brenda-

    I never had sleepovers. My father didn’t allow us to spend the night at other people’s houses. (sigh) But I do love when my critque partners and I go on retreat. We stay up late going on new projects, eating, drinking and having a grand old time. It kinda makes up for what I missed as a child.

  2. My local writing group used to have retreats twice a year. Some of us would stay up half the night – and sometimes we’d write! I also attend weekend scrapbooking retreats. It’s great fun, and I get a lot done. I get to concentrate on writing (or scrapbooking) without feeling guilty about not talking to the hubby, not getting bills paid, not picking up around the house…

    • Sounds like a lot of fun. And, you’re right, we mustn’t feel guilty about it! That precious “me” time is often few and far between. 🙂 It can be a breath of fresh air. (Wow, cliche alert! Ha!) Thanks for writing.

  3. Sounds awesome! I’m jealous. 😀

    • I’m thankful every day to belong to my writer’s group. They teach me soooo much! We had a few visitors from out-of-state last weekend, so who knows? Maybe some time you could join us! (Crazier things have happened.) Thanks for writing!

Leave a Reply

