A Winter Ball

Our high school has a Formal Ball in late December right before break. It’s different from our prom in that all students are invited and no one has to pay. (Kudos to the fund-raisers!)

Another great thing is no one needs a date. Therefore—no one is left out, no one is a tag-along, and no one stands alone on the side-lines praying someone will look their way.

Part of my job right now is to ooh and ahh when my students whip out their phones at the end of the day and show me the dresses they plan to wear, the hairstyles they hope will work, and the shoes they’ve already ordered.

And so we enter the time of fairy tale dreams, and I’m privileged to be part of it.

Tell me, did you ever go to a ball? What was it like?

I’d love to hear your stories. And as always, thanks for stopping by!

Brenda

4 Comments

Filed under Teen Life

4 responses to “A Winter Ball

  1. A ball makes me think of one of my favorite fairy tales, “The Twelve Dancing Princesses” (AKA “The Princesses Who Danced Their Shoes Into Holes”). Trees w/ gold and silver branches. Golden gondola rides to a mist-shrouded castle on an island in the middle of the lake. No cell phones, though.

  2. This brought up so many memories for me … namely the memory of prom (we didn’t have a ball) and a beloved English teacher who tried to plan my whole prom night for me. She picked out my date, my dress, my corsage, who I should sit with … I didn’t follow a single one of her leads, ha-ha, but it was phenomenal to listen to the dream she’d envisioned for me 🙂

    Thanks for sharing this–If nothing else, it’s nice to hear from the adult-side again the “fairy tale dream” of an event like this! (And know that it’s something we always remember!)

    • Ha! I know we English teachers can sometimes get a bit nosy–but I will say I’ve never tried to pick out someone’s date! You were probably wise to not follow her leads. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

