Next Big Thing

20110419_tag

Talented writer Nan Reinhardt tagged me for the Next Big Thing. I hope you enjoy the game of tag. Have fun visiting Nan while you’re out playing–she has a great site at www.nanreinhardt.com

What is the working title of your next book?

Along Came Jordan

Where did the idea come from for the book?

I left Emili in The Lance Temptation, but I couldn’t forget her. She had more story to tell, so I had to keep going!  🙂  (She meets a new guy, too…)

What genre does your book fall under?

Contemporary Young Adult

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Hmmm. Wow, I have no idea! I’m thinking my teenage friends should help me answer this one.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Sixteen-year-old Emili struggles to adjust and survive in her new school, while trying to keep her family from falling apart. She also learns to trust herself to love again. (Oops! Two sentences!)

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I will be submitting it shortly, and we’ll see what happens!

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

It took about four months for the first draft. But as you know, first drafts are only the beginning. Sometimes the rewrites and edits take longer than the original writing.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Other current contemporary young adult books. If you like to dive into teen-agers’ lives and live their through their struggles and romances, you’ll like Along Came Jordan.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

My high school students. They’re a magical bunch of kids who generously share their lives with me.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Emili’s sister develops silent mutism, and will not speak to anyone except Emili.

Here are the great authors I’ve tagged to tell you about their Next Big Thing! Visit them on December 12th and see what’s coming up for them. In the meantime, Happy Holidays!

Traci Douglass:  http://tracidouglass.net/blog/

Christi Doporto:  http://cmdoporto.com/?page_id=8

I’d love to know your thoughts about my WIP.

And as always, thanks for stopping by.

Brenda

P.S. Remember to visit Traci and Christi!

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Hop

4 responses to “Next Big Thing

  1. Jim

    Emili’s such a good-hearted kid, I really hope Jordan treats her right!

  2. Great post! Your story sounds intriguing. I know when we did the Next Big Thing post that we found it hard to name actors/actresses that would fit, and that was mostly because we don’t know very many of the younger ones today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

