Females in Direct Combat

Greetings, Friends! Today my mind is focused on the news about females being allowed in direct combat. This means teen girls as young as eighteen. Every day at school, I look around my classroom and see many girls who have turned eighteen or are almost there.

These girls are intelligent, fit, curious, and skilled. I do understand the equality issue. After all, I grew up in the Gloria Steinem era. But I must confess I shudder at the possibility of these girls in direct combat.

Maybe it’s the mother in me coming out…

Kathleen Parker, who writes for the Washington Post says, “This is a terrible idea… arguments against women in combat have nothing to do with courage, skill, patriotism or dedication.” She goes on to say that women can indeed excel in all these areas, even passing up their male counterparts on occasion. However, she sates that females have only half the upper-body strength as males – no small point in the field. (See full article here.)

Susan Estrich brings up another aspect to think about, “…women who are captured as prisoners of war would not only be killed, as men are, but also sexually assaulted.”  (See full article here.)

There are many thought provoking articles available on this topic, both pro and con, and because my life is filled with teen girls I have been reading the articles with great interest.

How do you feel about it? Should females be allowed in direct combat? I’d love to know your thoughts on the issue.

And as always, thanks for stopping by.

Brenda

P.S. Next week my book The Lance Temptation releases from Astraea Press. It’s a good, clean teen read. I hope you’ll grab a copy!

6 Comments

Filed under Teen Life

6 responses to “Females in Direct Combat

  1. That is such a tough issue. But in the end what makes it any better when it’s our 18 year old sons going into combat? 18 is too young for anyone to see the horrors of war and face death. I won’t say it’s wrong for a woman to be in direct combat, because I believe in the freedom to make that choice, but it is certainly not something I would want my sister’s to choose.

    • Hi Chrissteen. Yes, I was thinking of my son and my male students too as I was reading the articles. There certainly is no easy answer or easy stance. None of us wants to lose those we love, whether male or female. My heart goes out to those who have lost loved ones. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Jim Cangany

    Hi Brenda. My wife Nancy was in the army for five years and we joke to this day that she’s tougher than I could ever hope to be. That said, I truly believe that if a woman can pass all physical tests that a man is required to pass, the choice should be hers whether she wants to be assigned to direct combat. To deny her that choice just because of her sex is wrong.

    • Hi Jim! Thanks for the comment. I really appreciate your perspective and agree that freedom is about choice. I’ve traveled too much not to see and understand what a difference having choices makes in life. So hard for me to put away my instinct to protect whenever I think about these kinds of issues. 🙂

  3. Krista

    As a mother of daughters who could be drafted into the military in the future, the aspects of direct combat mentioned above really worry me (sexual assault, torture, etc.). I want my daughters to be anything they want to be when they grow up, but I feel strongly that they should not be drafted and forced into direct combat situations. There are many other ways to faithfully serve their country.

Leave a Reply

