Read an E-book!

You’ve got to love a company that would dedicate time to Read an E-book Week. Smashwords has done just that!

I remember when digital books first came out. I couldn’t figure out how I could possibly enjoy reading  books on a screen. What about the crisp feel of the page, the smell of the new binding, the ability to write my name in loopy cursive inside the front cover?

Well, it didn’t take long before I got the hang of it!  While I still don’t enjoy reading on a computer screen where I have to keep scrolling, e-readers and tablets are another story. I’ve been surprised by how much I don’t mind them. Okay, that sounded strange.  I guess I’ve been surprised by how much I enjoy them! Wonder of wonders.

Plus, the price point of digital books is totally something to rejoice in!

I have to admit, my house is still somewhat overflowing with actual  hard copies of books. And I’ve never figured out how to safely read an e-book in the tub, but I’ve jumped on the bandwagon even so far as publishing my first book in digital format.

So, long live physical copies of books, and long live our digital miracles!

How about you?  Do you like to read digital books? Or do you prefer hard copies? I’d love to know.

And as always, thanks for stopping by!

Brenda

4 Comments

Filed under E-Readers

4 responses to “Read an E-book!

  1. Like you, I am comfortable with both. I prefer paying less for digital, but will seek out hard copies from the library. If it is by a favorite author, I may even purchase the actual book for my collection. In other words, I’m flexible:)

    • I spend a LOT of time at my library,too! Is there anything better than leaving with a huge stack of new books to read? It always makes me feel like the richest gal in the world! 🙂 Thanks for writing!

  2. Jim Cangany

    Hey Brenda, While I’ve come to love e-books (wouldn’t have anything to do with my first novel coming out electronically, of course!), I still enjoy hard copy. In fact, on my nightstand, I’ve got my e-reader right next to a stack of three paperbacks. May both forms live forever.

Leave a Reply

