Spring Break in Europe!

eiffel tower

Yesterday it snowed. A lot! I had to look at the calendar to make sure it was nearly April. Some schools in our area are on spring break this week. Hmm, isn’t the dream of spring break supposed to be frivolity on the beach somewhere, not the drudgery of wading through shin-high snow!

My school’s spring break begins next week. However, in two days I take off early for Madrid and Paris. I’m leading a group of 30 students and a few moms on tour. I’ve been planning and working on this for a year and a half. (I find myself somewhat shocked that it’s finally here!)

I’m also shocked at how many people signed up to go. The last group I took to Europe a couple years ago had thirteen people.  This week’s tour is more than double!

The students are over-the-moon excited.  Many of them have never been out of the States. Some have never boarded a commercial plane.

I consider it a privilege to be the organizer of this trip for the students. The group is a fun mix of high school students from ninth to twelfth grade. It’ll be an eye-opening experience in many ways.

So…..while all the other teachers are hopefully putting their feet up for some well-deserved rest, I’ll be hiking my way through the amazing sites of Europe with a great group of teens!

madrid

How about you? Have you ever gone on a foreign tour with a school group? If you could plan a student trip, where would you go?

I’d love to hear from you.

And as always, thanks for stopping by!

Brenda

P.S.  HUGE thank you’s to those dear readers who leave reviews on Amazon, Goodreads, Barnes and Noble, etc.   It means the world to us authors!   I’d love for you to Read The Lance Temptation!  A good, clean, teen read.  🙂

6 Comments

Filed under Teen Life

6 responses to “Spring Break in Europe!

  1. Ellen

    Brenda, Have a fantastic trip to Europe! Mike and I have never been but our daughter has three times. You will be a wonderful tour guide. I am sure that you will miss Eli, I love seeing the pictures of him and how much you and Paul are enjoying him! Happy travels 🙂 Ellen Brown

  2. What a fabulous way to spend a Spring Break! My DH and I spent the last one in Rome. We ran into a group of teens on a school tour, and they were so excited and having so much fun. You must have the energy of Superwoman to take this on! Have a great time.

    • Thanks, Suzanne. The kids are beside themselves with anticipation. What’s double fun is watching their responses and their enjoyment of everything. (And I’ll be crashing when we get home! Ha!)

  3. Hi Brenda, I’ve never taken students to Europe, but have done smaller trips. The rewards far outweighed the worries. The highlight of my teaching career was chaperoning debate students to a tournament at Harvard. “Awesome” doesn’t cover it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

