Sweet Saturday Sample

sweet saturday

Welcome to another edition of Sweet Saturday Samples! A group of authors get together to share a sample from one of their books. It’s like going to a smorgasbord and dipping into a variety of goodies!  🙂

Today, I’d like to share a sample from my new release Someday You’ll Laugh! I hope you enjoy it!

Don’t vomit in the middle of your wedding. Good advice all around. Too bad I ignored it.

My story didn’t start with vomiting, but it did begin with a good gut wrench…

The low sun flamed from the sky even though the time was edging toward nine-thirty at night. I squinted into the glowing horizon and my heart squeezed. I held back the tears.

“Just ten months,” Greg whispered to me. “It’s not so long.”

“Only forever,” I answered. I hadn’t let go of his arm for the past thirty minutes.

He shifted his weight and settled onto the park bench. “We need to talk.”

“We are talking.” I joined him, stretched my legs, and dipped the toes of my shoes into the loose gravel at my feet.

His face had gone serious, and I knew I wasn’t going to like what he had to say. He gazed over my shoulder toward the playground equipment as if observing interesting twists of fine sculpture.

I still held his arm, but now I released my death grip. My fingers remained bent, stuck in a clutched position. “What is it?”

“I think we should see other people.” His words dropped like bricks, gaining speed as they crashed on my ears.

My mouth fell open and I jolted to my feet, tripping over a stone which protruded from the loose rock circling the bench. I skittered a bit, and regained my balance. “See other people? What do you mean?”

“Sit back down.” Greg pulled on my arm and coaxed me onto the bench again. “California’s a long way from here, and I think it’d be a good idea to keep our options open.”

I sat like a wooden toy, stiff and unmoving. I knew I was staring at him, I knew my face was revealing too much, and I knew I wanted to deck him.

good clean teen read

If you’d like to sample some other authors’ works, click here!

Enjoy reading!

And as always, thanks for stopping by!

Brenda

P.S. Would you like to receive book news and musings about teens and life? Sign up to receive my blog regularly — I’d be thrilled to have you!  🙂  Just enter your email in the form at the upper right.

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Hop

4 responses to “Sweet Saturday Sample

  1. Okay…if he really loved her he’d be wanting to make sure she wasn’t going to be seeing anyone else in his absence… But then, I have the feeling we haven’t even gotten to the good part yet! 😉

  2. Sounds like he’s already got a replacement for her lined up, she should go with her instincts and deck him, then if they ever get back together he may hesitate to take advantage of her next time.

Leave a Reply

