Graduation!

 

It’s not just parents who cry on graduation day, it’s teachers! I ought to know. I’m a virtual bawl-baby. Last Thursday was graduation day for the high school where I teach. This wasn’t an ordinary graduation. (Are they ever? Hmm, not sure about that.) I teach at a fairly new charter school. Five years ago, our school first opened its doors to sixth graders, seventh graders, and a group of eclectic, energetic 8th graders.

I taught the 8th graders English and Lit. The next year, I went up with them and taught 9th grade English and Lit. The following two years, I had a good number of them in my Dramatic Lit classes. Then again this year, I had all of them in 12th grade English and LIt.

I have loved and taught those same students for five years. Last Thurday, they were our very first full graduating class.

So. . . tears? Yes, and plenty of them.  I watched them walk proudly up to receive their diplomas, but I couldn’t help but think about next year.

It’s going to be more than strange to walk the halls without them. It’s going to be odd to not see them every day, to not know what’s going on in their lives, to not be the one they turn to with problems, questions, and triumphs.

Put simply: I’m going to miss them. My lovely, wonderful students.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for a good run.

How about you? Do you have a graduate this year? Or are you a graduate? I’d love to hear from you!  Ahhh, so bittersweet.

As always, thanks for stopping by.

Brenda

P.S. If you haven’t signed up to receive this blog regularly, it’s easy! Simply enter your email in the box in the upper right hand column. Thank you and welcome!

4 Comments

Filed under Teen Life

4 responses to “Graduation!

  1. Of course, I want to know who graduated. I am just glad they made it across the stage. 🙂 I know you must have done your share of pushing to get them there.

  2. I cry when my students graduate, too. Many of them stay in contact, and I’m so proud to see their accomplishments. It must have been wonderful for you to be able to teach some of those kids for five years. How amazing.

  3. I’ve been known to cry when a student gets an attendance award. (Embarrassing, but true!) I love it when students are called out for anything good! Glad to know I have a fellow cry-er! Thanks, Suzanne!

Leave a Reply

