Sweet Saturday #4

sweet saturday

Hello Friends!  Happy Sweet Saturday!

We’ve just said good-bye to fifty amazing (or should I say “sweet” since that’s our theme today) international guests. These guests were from twenty-four different countries and spent a couple weeks with us in Indiana for training. They’re the directors of a vibrant world-wide child sponsorship program which my husband directs. (They have a fun website if you’d care to check it out. Children of Promise)

In and around helping to care for these guests, I managed to get some writing in. So, I’d like to share another sample from my upcoming book, Buried Truth.  (Cover reveal coming very soon!)

Here’s excerpt #3 for you:

Bri started peeling off her clothes. She threw her hoodie across the room, I guess aiming for my rocker. It fell short and flopped against the garbage can, knocking it over. “Oops. My bad,” she said and scrambled over to gather up the few crinkled wrappers off the floor and to right the basket.

She backed up and her foot caught in the leg of her sweats. Crashing into my desk, she knocked my wooden keepsake box to the floor. It broke open, spilling everything inside.

I gasped and ran to scoop it all up, but I wasn’t fast enough. Bri had seized a photo and was staring at it. “Mags, is this… no, it couldn’t be. Is this…”

I yanked the photo from her hand and buried it back in the box. The lid had broken loose so I plopped it on top and hugged the whole mess to my chest. “Bri, for once in your whole life, can’t you be careful?”

My voice was raw and mean, and it shocked us both into silence. Wide-eyed, I stared at her with guilt rising in my chest.

I sputtered and worked to calm my heart. “Sorry. Truly. I have a big mouth.” I walked to my dresser, opened the top drawer, and placed the battered box inside. How could I have forgotten I’d left it out on the desk? How could I have been so stupid?

Buried Truth is a contemporary young adult novel. It’s Book One of a new series which takes place on the West Coast, Ocean Mist.

Thanks for reading today! If you’d like to visit other Sweet Saturday Samples, click here.

How about you? Have any of you had any exciting guests this summer? I’d love to hear about them!

And as always, thanks for stopping by.

Brenda

P.S.  Are you interested in becoming part of my new street team? Click here for more information. Thank you!

2 Comments

Filed under Teen Life

2 responses to “Sweet Saturday #4

  1. Sounds like Bri is a klutz. I wonder who’s in the picture, and why does it upset her?

Leave a Reply

