Welcome Merry Brown!

Clean teen readDear Friends, I’m delighted today to welcome author Merry Brown to my blog! We’re celebrated her new book Gold Manor Ghost House! Before we get into the fun details of her book and the prize she’s offering, I wanted to share an interview with Merry:

1. Merry, what is your favorite work of fiction?

It’s a seemingly straight forward, easy question, but I have no idea!  I have loved so many stories over the years, it feels false to single one out.  A few favorites? A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court by Mark Twain, The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, and Feed by M.T. Anderson.

2. What is your single favorite character in any book? Tell us about the character.

Though I have a hard time picking out a favorite book, Jane Eyre is my favorite character.

Jane is faced with difficult circumstance after circumstance.  What I admire about her is the courage and strong sense of self she displays, regardless of the situation.

When she leaves Thornfield Hall, not knowing what to do or where to go, her fortitude and intact moral compass brings me to tears.  I wish, someday, to have the courage and wisdom of Jane.

3. What’s your favorite part of a book?

Always the beginning.  I love being introduced to the characters.  I like seeing what the rules of the world are and the excitement of the adventure.

Since I’m a romantic, I also love when love finally wins and the main characters find each other.  I recently finished The Indigo Spell, book three in the Bloodlines Series by Richelle Mead.  The journey and turmoil I endured with the characters was worth the payout of those last scenes (spoiler alert!), when Sydney and Adrian finally come together.

4. Who are your target readers and how does your idea of them come into play when you are writing?

My target readers are those who love YA paranormal romance.  YA is not reserved for the young adult audience, but anyone who wants a fun, clean (of course not all YA authors agree how much is too much), exciting, romantic, and otherworldly read. I strive to keep all those elements in mind when I write.

5. What are the major themes of your work?

Virtue, beauty, and truth are more interesting and will ultimately win over vice, destruction, and lies.

6. What inspires you?

I’m inspired by this amazing and mysterious world.  Stories of love, redemption, and overcoming base desires move me to act and become more than I am.

I’m inspired by my children, husband, family, friends, my students, and ideas.  Whatever is life giving and affirming, on some level, inspires me.  I know it’s a broad answer, but it’s true.

(Ha! I especially love your answer to the last question! I could have written that myself!)

 

VBT Gold Manor Ghost House Book Cover Banner copy

 

Here’s a blurb about Merry’s book:

Anna thought life was going to be awesome.  She was right…and wrong.

Won her dream job acting in a hit TV series.  Check.

Working with her best friend.  Check.

The set’s haunted and she’s in the middle of a supernatural war.  Uh, check?

Anna Rose Ellington is sixteen and living in Hollywood, hoping to be a star. Anna just landed a major role on Ghost House, TeenTV’s new fall drama.  A show promising to be so hot, Meg Sweet (the reigning teenage diva), signed on for the lead, and Adam Lewis (international rock sensation) is a principal player.

Her dreams are falling into place until she gets on set and begins questioning her sanity.  It’s true she has an unusual dream life, where once in a while her dreams literally come true.  But it’s been a while.  On top of her dreams not staying put in her brain, including the guy she’d been dreaming of for years, the house they’re filming in, Gold Manor, might actually be haunted.  But that’s the least of her worries.

 

And here’s an excerpt for you:

“And now for that special musical treat I was telling you about.  As your dessert comes around, our very own Adam Lewis is going to play the latest single with his bandmate, Ewin, from F&L.”

Adam got up on stage and the lead singer appeared from the shadows.  As he got in position, he took off his jersey, put on his leather jacket and strapped a guitar around his shoulder.

As I was saying no to the piece of fried cheesecake, my eyes rested on the pair singing, “The Only One.”

It took a moment for my brain to register what was before me.   I saw clearly, but couldn’t believe.  I was looking at the impossible.

On stage, playing guitar and singing back-up vocals to Ewin Larkin was Leather Jacket Guy.

Leather Jacket Guy was Adam Lewis!

My mind froze as my fork slipped out of my hand and clanged to the floor.  The noise caught the attention of Adam and Ewin.  In mid strum Adam stopped playing.  He threw his guitar to the floor, his face filled with panic.

“Anna, get out of here now.  Get Out!” he shouted.

VBT Gold Manor Ghost House Banner copy

A bit more information about Merry Brown, plus her all important links!

Born and raised in Bakersfield, California, Merry Brown now lives in the northwest corner of Tennessee with her husband, three boys, and Daisy the cat. She teaches philosophy at the University of Tennessee, Martin, where she counts it a great privilege and joy to introduce students to perennial questions about the nature of the universe, meaning, morality, and the human condition. Merry Brown’s love of philosophy and young adult paranormal and dystopian literature inspired her to write THE KNOWERS, the first book in the Exiled Trilogy. GOLD MANOR GOLD HOUSE is her latest YA paranormal romance book.

Merry’s Contact Info:

http://www.merrybrown.com

Twitter: @merryebrown

Facebook: Merry Brown

Click Here to Buy Gold Manor Gold House 

 

Merry is awarding a $25 Amazon gift card to one randomly drawn commenter! So please take a moment to comment below! I’d love one of my readers to win!

I appreciate you sharing a moment with us today! Have a wonderful week.

And as always, thanks for stopping by.

Brenda

P.S.  Cover reveal for my new book Buried Truth coming soon! (I’m pumped!) I’d love to have you join my new street team. Click the link above to find out more.

23 Comments

Filed under Teen Life

23 responses to “Welcome Merry Brown!

  1. Mary Preston

    I love the beginnings of stories too. Nothing better then a book that hooks you from the very first page.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  2. Dee

    Nice interview, I agree with you on the book beginnings, too. Your book sounds great, I love ghostly paranormal stories. Good luck on your tour.

  3. Rita Wray

    I agree, the beginning of the story has to grab me.

    Kit3247(at)aol(dot)com

  4. Andra

    I read Feed recently. Kind of weirded me out a bit, but it was a very good read! Thanks so much for sharing your interview!

    andralynn7 AT gmail DOT com

  5. Kate

    Thank you for sharing the giveaway!

    hense1kk (at) cmich (dot) edu

  6. Breanda,
    Thank you for hosting Gold Manor Ghost House today!

  7. Catherine

    Merry…I don’t think I had noticed before that you teach Philosophy. How interesting. Do your students know you’re a YA author? Have they read your works? You and Andra mention the book Feed. I’ve never read it but I looked it up and now I have GOT to read it. It sounds very interesting.
    catherinelee100 at gmail dot com

    • I adore teaching philosophy! I’ve been at it since the late 90’s. I’m a bit shy telling students about my work. At the end of a semester, when I run a free day on Amazon, I’ll tell them. I don’t want to feel like I’m “selling” something to them, of course.
      As for Feed, I think it’s YA dystopian lit at its best. Give it a read and let me know what you think. There is a lot of cussing, but the language is part of the story. I hope you enjoy it.

  8. This book is perfect for me! Being an empath and an independent paranormal investigator, books like this are the icing on the cake for me! Thank you for the wonderful interview and excerpt! kbinmich@yahoo.com

  9. Shannon

    Thanks for the great interview. I totally agree that YA paranormal romance itsn’t just for the younger audience, anyone can enjoy a great book

    fencingromein at hotmail dot com

  10. Natasha

    Great interview!
    Thanks for the chance to win!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

Leave a Reply

