Welcome, M. Kircher!

HeadshotBook

Greetings, Friends! I’m excited to be hosting author, M. Kircher! I had the privilege of interviewing her recently and am pleased to share her answers with you: (Don’t forget to enter the giveaway explained at the end of the post!)

Q. Where are you from?

I’m currently living in Redding, Connecticut, which is one of the suburban/rural commuter towns that feed into NYC. It’s crazy living in this area with a lot of celebrities and famous people that pop up everywhere. I just moved from Norwalk, CT, which is about twenty minutes away from where I am now, and the movie Hope Springs had a set directly across from my old house. Everyone else saw Steve Carell, but not me. I was so bummed.

Q. Tell us your latest news?

My new YA Paranormal/Dystopian novel, The War Inside: Book One in the Horizons Trilogy was released a couple of months ago. I’m so excited to share this book with readers. At different points it’s been in Amazon.com’s Kindle Top 100 Bestsellers for “Dystopian” and “Metaphysical & Visionary Fantasy.” It was also featured on http://mycrazzycorner.blogspot.com/ as part of their “2013 YA Blogfest.” And now this virtual book tour which runs from October 17th –October 25th. So there have been a lot of fun and exciting things going on surrounding the release.

Q. When and why did you begin writing?

When I started writing fiction a couple years ago I had already been published as a non-fiction author and columnist. I love writing about dating, marriage, and relationships, but my true passion is stories. I have been in love with all kinds of stories ever since I was a child. So when a friend encouraged me to try my hand at fiction, I decided to just go for it. At the time my husband and I were waiting to be placed with our first foster child (who was just adopted this past July!) and so I had a lot of anxious hours to fill. It was so wonderful for me to be able to dive into the lives of my characters for a while and lose myself in their fantastical story.

And since then I just can’t seem to stop writing YA fiction. I truly love it!

Q. When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Honestly, I think most writers have a hard time considering themselves writers. Unless you have New York Times Bestseller success story, it’s hard to quantify when you’ve really “arrived.” There is a great ebook by the author Jeff Goins called, You Are a Writer: So Start Acting Like One (http://youareawriter.com/) and in it is some awesome advice for writers. It’s super encouraging and he basically tells all of us, “If you’ve written anything- published, unpublished, self-published, blogged, or hidden under your mattress…then you’re a writer.” So I try to stick to that rule of thumb. I’ve written stuff; therefore I am a writer!

Q. What inspired you to write your first book?

My first novel is The War Inside and what inspired me to write it were all the brilliant, epic stories I grew up on like: The Lord of the Rings trilogy, The Chronicles of Narnia books or literally anything written by Anne McCaffrey or Tad Williams. I love reading books and watching movies that give me tingles and make me want to be the hero or heroine in that story. I wanted to write a story that gave people tingles too and so I sat down and tried to write about things I’m passionate about like human connection, good vs. evil, taking care of our planet, love, and all things sci-fi and fantasy.

Q. Do you have a specific writing style?

I tend to write in fragments and it drives editors crazy. But I like to think that I can write dialogue in a way that people actually talk and not many of us actually use complete, grammatically correct sentences when we talk to each other. I think it is one of my strengths as a writer.

Q. How did you come up with the title?

I am actually so bad a titles! When you start out writing blogs, web, and magazine articles there has to be a catchy title for everything, so you run out of good stuff fast. I bounce a lot of title ideas off my husband. The War Inside came about by creating a Word document with all these different ideas and swapping them around until I found one that really clicked. It was simple, but it worked. I learned the technique when interning for a graphic design company. Write down all your ideas until you can’t come up with a single thing more, circle the ones that stand out, and then play around with those until you find something that really sings.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I’d like girls, teenagers, and women to grasp that you can have emotions and fall in love, but also be this strong, resilient person at the same time. It doesn’t have to be one or the other. The book also takes a hard look at today’s society and presents a scenario where our technology use and treatment of the planet has been taken to the extreme. There isn’t this huge war, we just start neglecting each other, our own souls, and the planet, and destruction ensues. I’d love this novel to inspire readers to think about their choices and how much their lives can affect the world for good.

How much of the book is realistic?

Not a whole lot! There aren’t aliens, but I do introduce some really creepy creatures called shadows. And all the characters live on an Earth where there is almost no sunlight. So I had to get creative with good portion of the book, which was fun.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I think when you write characters of any kind, there are always little parts of yourself, or others you know, hidden in their personalities. But there are no direct parallels between the characters in The War Inside and people I know. Breathe easy friends and family! However, the events that brought down humanity and ruined the planet are pulled from things I’m seeing in my own life and habits, like how much I use my iPhone and how little I recycle. Not to make myself or others feel bad, but to take a positive look about how there is always a chance for change and good.

What books have most influenced your life most? The Lord of the Rings, The War of the Flowers, The Handmaid’s Tale, Pride & Prejudice, All Flesh is Grass, and many, many more!

Thank you so much for having me!  (It was my pleasure.  — Brenda)

Cover_TheWarInside

As you read, we’re celebrating the release of M. Kircher’s book, The War Inside.

Here’s a blurb about her book:

The end of the world is only just the beginning. So eighteen-year-old Thea discovers when her solitary life on a dying Earth is shattered by a mysterious dream, a devastating choice, and a strange gift that propels her on a journey towards the restoration of all mankind.

Thea is bitter and alone; eking out her miserable life on the sunless, cloud-covered Earth she inhabits. A terrifying dream convinces her to save the life of an injured girl, and despite her misgivings, Thea decides to rescue sixteen-year-old Viviana. She soon learns that gentle Viv has a life-threatening infection, as well as a freakish patch of glowing skin over her heart. When this light spreads to Thea, causing her palms to glow, she is forced to trust Caden, an arrogant, lazy, and annoyingly handsome boy she despises. Caden has a map to the last city on Earth, and the only place that might have a cure for both Viv’s infection and the strange light on Thea’s hands. As the trio embark on a journey through the barren wilderness, Thea and Caden discover, and try to fight, their mounting attraction to each other. Along the way they are joined by Rain, Naomi, and Enoch who explain that the light is not a curse, but a powerful gift meant to heal the polluted Earth and reconnect the remnants of humanity. When the group learns that Viv is the key to this planet-wide redemption, and that there are deadly shadows who will do anything to keep humans in the darkness forever, they each must make the difficult decision to help Viv fulfill her destiny…and save the world.

Here’s an Excerpt to Give You a Taste:

The War Inside

© 2013 By M. Kircher

“It’s real. All of it. And Viv. She changed me, even before I left, I think. I started to feel things, and it scared me. Is that what you want me to say, Thea? I was scared; I admit it.”

Thea hunched her shoulders, knowing Caden was right. If she had been in his place, she would have walked away. Without a second thought.

Caden stepped closer and pulled Thea to her feet. “I’m sorry I left. I’ve never cared about right or wrong before now. But somehow I knew I had to come find you.”

He took her hands, and Thea felt a tingle of sensation run up her spine. She knew she should pull away, but she stood frozen, unable to break the contact. Caden slowly unwrapped the strips of cloth that still covered her palms. When they fell to the floor, he took his thumbs and rubbed them in circles over her shining skin. It felt very warm.

“What do you want from me?” she whispered.

Caden ran his palms over hers. “A second chance,” he said softly, and Thea felt her heart jump.

“Ahem!” Rain cleared his throat loudly, and Thea and Caden leaped apart. “I hate to break up this touching scene.” Rain grinned mischievously. “But Enoch wants us to go with Naomi. He says we need to practice. Whatever that means.” He looked from Thea to Caden. “Unless you two have other plans….”

“No!” said Thea quickly, her heart still pounding in her chest. She couldn’t even look at Caden. How had she let herself be drawn in like that? Ugh, no wonder he’d been with almost every girl in the Valley. The guy could turn on the charm, but she wouldn’t let him get to her. She could never forget what he had done.

“We’re coming,” she told Rain briskly.

Here’s a bit about M. Kircher:

M. KIRCHER graduated with a B.A. in Fine Arts from Gordon College and is currently an author and artist. “The War Inside” is her first novel, but there are more to come including the second book in The Horizons Trilogy, “The Gray Horizon” and “Dreamcatchers”, a futuristic twist on the legend of Rip Van Winkle. She devours YA, science fiction, fantasy, and romance on a regular basis and is immensely happy to pour her time and energy into creating stories for other people to enjoy. Bob Ross and J.R.R. Tolkien tie for her two favorite people of all time.

She and her husband write regularly for Relevant Magazine (www.relevantmagazine.com) and Simply Youth Ministry (www.youthministry.com). They also just had their first book published called “99 Thoughts on Marriage and Ministry”, by Group Publishing.

M. Kircher lives in Connecticut with her husband, one energetic son, and a new baby girl.

Buy Link:

Amazon: 

Website

Blog

Twitter: @MKircher83

Facebook

Goodreads

Amazon Author Profile

The author will be awarding a $25.00 Amazon.com gift card to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour. So please comment below! 

VBT_TheWarInside_Banner

And as always, thanks for stopping by.

Brenda

P.S. Click here to find out why Farah Menins planned to be married at sixteen.

25 Comments

Filed under Book Tours

25 responses to “Welcome, M. Kircher!

  1. Andra Lynn

    It’s great that you really focus on making your dialogue sound real. When it sounds staged, and like two characters really are just spitting out lines, I can never really get into the story. Even though it drives editors crazy, stick with it chick!

    andralynn7 AT gmail DOT com

    • Thanks for the encouragement Andra Lynn! I’ve so enjoyed hearing from you during this tour. Just told my hubby about the epic LOTR cleaning music last night, he thought it was an awesome idea 🙂

  2. Hi Brenda! Thanks for hosting me today and asking some really insightful questions! It was fun reading through your bio and seeing you have an adopted grandbaby…my husband and I just adopted our foster son this July! Yay adoption.

    -Melissa

    • Hi Melissa! Yes, we LOVE adoption. I now have three beautiful grandchildren from The Democratic Republic of Congo. I can’t imagine our lives without them! I’m so happy to hear of your newly adopted son! Adoption is a wonderful miracle. Thanks for writing!

  3. Pingback: Tuesday’s Blog Stop: Brenda Maxfield | www.mkircher.com

  4. Mary Preston

    Shadows is a great name for the creepy creatures.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  5. Rita Wray

    What a great interview, I enjoyed learning more about you.

    Kit3247(at)aol(dot)com

  6. Thanks for sharing the great interview and the giveaway. Sounds like a great book. evamillien at gmail dot com

  7. It was great to be here today, thank you so much Brenda for hosting!

    -Melissa

  8. bn100

    Sounds like a nice place to live

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

  9. Chelsea B.

    Wonderful interview!
    How cool!! Man, missing out on Steve!! That’s a real bummer.

    justforswag(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

  10. Natasha

    Great interview!
    Thanks for sharing and for the chance to win!
    Sounds like an amazing read!!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

Leave a Reply

