Authors in Bloom Blog Hop

Greetings, Friends!  The very thought of spring turns my thoughts toward fresh garden food. I remember when I used to live on the West Coast; we could start planting in April. But as I’ve mentioned in this blog before, sometimes planting in May can get you in trouble here in Indiana!

However, in the spirit and hope of fresh garden veggies, I’d like to share a simple recipe with you:

Strawberry and Arugula Salad

  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts or almonds
  • 4 cups baby arugula (other light spring greens can be substituted
  • 2 cups sliced strawberries
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • a pinch of salt
  • 2 tablespoons aged balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

To Prepare:

  1. Toast walnuts or almonds in a small dry skillet over medium-low heat. You’ll need to stir frequently. When slightly browned (3 to 5 minutes), transfer to a salad bowl to cool for 5 minutes.
  2. Add arugula (or other greens), strawberries, pepper and salt. Toss with vinegar and oil. Serve at once.

Enjoy!!

Take time to visit the other authors participating in this blog hop! (Link below.) To be entered in the GRAND PRIZE  — we are giving away a Kindle Fire or Nook (winner’s choice) along with a $25 gift card for the same — visit every blog and be sure to leave a comment which includes your email address.

The PRIZE at this website is a $5 Gift Card from Amazon! A winner will be randomly chosen from the commenters.

I hope you’ll want to check out my latest release from the Ocean Mist Series:

TheReturn 500x750

For a limited time, it is merely 99 cents on Amazon. Click here and buy!

For those of you with young children, check out Lynda Raymond Books. Each book comes with a FREE video book for your child or grandchild. CLICK HERE! 

I’m eager to hear from you. Do any of you have favorite spring recipes?

HERE is the link to visit all participating blogs!!

And as always, thanks for stopping by.

Brenda

 

45 Comments

Filed under Blog Hop

45 responses to “Authors in Bloom Blog Hop

  1. It’s spring and it means fresh fruit. I like to make food with fresh fruit. Anywhere I can add fresh fruits and veggies I like to throw them in. No particular recipe comes to my mind except for fresh fruit smoothies. In a blender add a cup of mixed berries (blackberries, raspberries and strawberries are my favorite), add a cup of Greek yogurt, a teaspoon of honey, a tablespoon of peanut or almond butter, a splash of vanilla, and coconut milk (and ice if desired). Blend until smooth. Perfect for breakfast especially if you add some protein powder.

  2. I like to add mango to my green salads. Just delicious.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  3. I love any kind of fruit salad with strawberries and cherries watermelon is very good as well. josephhawkshaw@yahoo.com

  4. I’m so looking forward to fresh veggies and fruits! I love the farmer’s market, but we are going to attempt our own garden this year! That salad sounds delish! angelarosebooks@yahoo.com

  5. Savannah Miller

    Fruit salad is always a huge hit with my little guys 🙂
    I live in PA and I can’t wait until I’m finally able to start planting!
    savannahm1987@gmail.com

  6. Thanks for the chance to win!
    Froggy
    froggarita@gmail.com

  7. Ray

    I simply love love good recipes. I believe everyone present here loves it too. 🙂 Thanks for the great blog post.

  8. Leslie Rodriguez

    i like making smoothies with fresh fruit. esseboo@yahoo.com

  9. I love fruit salad, or putting fresh fruit on ice cream. We had a nice strawberry patch a few years ago, but it’s run wild now. Maybe this year I’ll redo it. Found an eastern box turtle in the patch once enjoying the berries. He was cute. 🙂
    cchant86 @ yahoo.com

  10. Dovile

    In the spring, my body just craves vitamins, so I love making salads and various juice.

    spamscape [at] gmail [dot] com

  11. Strawberries and arugula! Two of my all time favs! Especially arugula!
    eallen99@juno.com

  12. I love participating in these blog hops~ I always come away with a longer TBR as well as new bloggers added to my Bloglovin’ feed 🙂

    ilookfamous at yahoo dot com

  13. bn100

    Sounds tasty; don’t have one
    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

  14. Love your recipe. I really enjoy salads with a touch of fruit in them. Makes them taste so yummy good.

    kareninnc at gmail dot com

  15. ladymagnolia99

    Your recipe looks very good, also your book sounds like a good read.

    We enjoy salad and a little bit of fruit for a good and light lunch.

    Judy
    magnolias_1(at)msn(dot)com

  16. Your recipe sounds good! Thanks for sharing it with us!! And thank you for having this giveaway!! =)

    Take care & I hope you have a great day! =)

    Brandi
    BLeigh1130 at yahoo dot com

  17. Lisa Lickel

    I do a strawberry and toasted almond salad; this sounds great, with arugula. lisalickel-at-yahoo.com

  18. BookAttict

    Feta cheese and watermelon!
    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

  19. fencingromein

    Thanks for the recipe. It sounds like the perfect thing for a spring party. I love to make angel food cake and strawberries in the spring, the perfect light dessert

    fencingromein at hotmail dot com

  20. jeannie platt

    Fruit Salad is awesome… My youngest goes through so much fruits it is crazy… Grapes and Strawberries are his favorite. Thank you for being part of this hop.

    j.m.platt83@gmail.com

  21. Alisha sienkiel

    Thanks for the great spring recipe and for being a part of the giveaway!
    sienkiel1821@yahoo.com

  22. Brenda, the salad sounds scrumptious!!! Thanks for being part of the blog hop. Your books look like fun reads. I’ll look for them. Happy spring (although they say it may snow here tonight!)
    npi-sunyer@comcast.net

  23. BookLady

    I love strawberries! Thanks for sharing the great recipe.
    bhometchko(at)hotmail(dot)com

  24. JanD

    I haven’t tasted arugula yet.
    bituin76 at hotmail dot com

  25. Deb P

    Thanks for the giveawy, Deb P
    r.d1@myfairpoint.net

  26. Hi! Great post! I like the recipe! Ive never tried it before. Sounds interesting! 😀 Thank you for sharing! 🙂
    ​And ​thank you for being apart of this awesome hop!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  27. Daniel M

    thanks for the hop! – regnod(at)yahoo(d0t)com

Leave a Reply

