Writing Process

stylus pen

Greetings, Friends! Thanks for joining me as I ruminate about writing. I’ve been tagged by my good friend, Jim Cangany. (By the way, he has two dynamite sweet romance books out, plus a Christmas story. Visit him here!) So here are my answers to the assigned questions!

How does my work differ from others in its genre?

My genre is contemporary young adult. I think one thing that sets my books apart is my effort to keep things PG rated. I’ve found that there is quite a large contingent of readers who like books without any embarrassment factor.

Why do I write what I do?

I’m lucky to spend massive time around teens, so I get an inside look into their world. These resilient young adults inspire me. I get to see the challenges they face. I see their tears of both joy and anguish. These wonderful teens are often my inspiration.

The biggest compliment to me is when my students read and enjoy my books. Sometimes, a teen will walk into class steaming about one of my characters. I love that! If I’ve brought a character to life enough that my students want to strangle him, I’ve accomplished my dream!

How does my writing process work?

My first drafts can be quite messy. I just want to get the story down. Then, my inner critic takes over and I start cleaning them up. I also find that reading my stories out loud to be unbelievably helpful. The things I hear — well, sometimes I can’t believe I didn’t see the mistakes the first three or four or five times through! Ha!

I sneak in writing time whenever I can. Early morning is best for me. I get my quota finished and then I feel a sense of accomplishment! It can get hectic, and writers (including me) often push ourselves too hard. Recently, I took a few weeks off to concentrate on other aspects of the writing business. It made me realize that breaks can be valuable!

How about you, dear readers. I know some of you are writers, too. Any thoughts to share?  I’d love to hear from you.

And as always, thanks for stopping by!

Brenda

P.S. Join my Newsletter Gang! It’s fun and free.  Click here!

P.P.S.  Read about the latest characters my students want to strangle:

TheReturn 500x750

2 Comments

Filed under Blog Hop

2 responses to “Writing Process

  1. Hey Brenda, great post. I’m totally with you on the messy first draft part. Thank goodness for red pens!

Leave a Reply

